Gluten free

Brand New Gluten-free Finds at Expo East

This was my first trip to Expo East and it was like being a kid in a gluten-free candy store.  Since there is such a focus on  gluten-free products, we were literally tripping over the many vendors who had just launched a gluten-free product or had added one to their existing line.

Some of my greatest gluten-free finds are listed below in no particular order:

Bars

  • Pamela’s Products is set to launch their Whenever Bars in three flavors: Oat Raisin Walnut Spice, Oat blueberry Lemon and Oat Cranberry Almond.  These bars are made with certified gluten-free Read More »

Brownies with a Hint of Matcha!

Inge Gillian Harris

Brownies, no doubt due to their high chocolate content, are generally loved by everyone. What is it about chocolate? Is it the ensuing relaxation from its high magnesium content, or just the mere addictive qualities attributed to chocolate? Probably, all of the above. The creative ways of using chocolate are endless.

There are also a hundred different ways of making brownies, gluten free or otherwise  – and we have a few options up our sleeves! Read More »

Buckwheat: The Gluten-Free Superfood!

Buckwheat200x126

Don’t let the name fool you. Buckwheat is anything but wheat. It is much more nutritious than wheat and, in spite of the name, is completely gluten-free.

Buckwheat has been grown in America since colonial days. Buckwheat was once very common on farms in the northeastern and northcentral United States. Production of buckwheat reached a peak in 1860s at which time the grain was a common livestock-feed and was in demand for making flour. Buckwheat enjoyed a resurgence of popularity in the mid 1970’s that was brought on by the demand for commercially prepared breakfast cereal and by exports to Japan for making buckwheat noodles. This boom was due to the nutritional excellence of buckwheat.(1)

Buckwheat Dietary Uses

Buckwheat flour has a strong, distinctive flavor and is often mixed with other flours to lend its distinctive taste to many baked goods. Buckwheat comes in a few different forms for dietary consumption: Read More »

Bumble Bar, Inc. Recalls Gluten Free Bars Due to Possible Salmonella Contamination

bumble bar gluen free snackOctober 24, 2012 – Bumble Bar is recalling certain lots of Gluten Free Café™ Chocolate Sesame Bars and Gluten Free Café™ Cinnamon Sesame Bars associated with Sunland Inc. peanut products, because they have the potential to be contaminated with Salmonella, an organism which can cause serious and sometimes fatal infection in young children, frail or elderly people, and others with weakened immune systems.  Healthy persons infected with Salmonella often experience fever, diarrhea (which may be bloody), nausea, vomiting and abdominal pain.  Consumers with the above symptoms should Read More »

Burger King Makes It Easier For Gluten-sensitive Restaurant Guests

Libonati_John_Philadelphia_PA

Fast-food chains are quickly joining the gluten-free party with menus featuring gluten-free foods. Burger King is the latest with their recent publication of a gluten-free menu that goes so far as to include a chicken breast filet!

New Gluten-Sensitive List Available at www.bk.com

Burger_king_logo MIAMI – Jan. 5, 2010 – Burger King Corp. (NYSE: BKC) today released a Gluten-Sensitive List: foods and ingredients on the BURGER KING® restaurant menu in the U.S. that do not contain wheat, barley, oats or rye. As part of nutrition efforts under its BK Positive Steps® corporate social responsibility program, the gluten-sensitive nutrition information supports BKC’s commitment to provide guests with access to detailed nutrition information so they can make informed choices that fit their dietary and lifestyle preferences. Read More »

Burts Bees Gluten-Free Lip Products

burts-bees-lip-products3This just in from a member of the Las Vegas listserve. This was Burts Bees customer response to a question about whether their lip products were gluten-free. Burts Bees Consumer Care number is below so you can contact them about their other products.

Dear Susan:

Thank you for contacting us with your inquiry, we do apologize that we are unable to provide you with a gluten free list at this moment; all of our lip products with the exception of our Res-Q lip balm with SPF 15 are gluten free. We thank you for making Burt’s Bees your Natural Personal Skin Care company, in the meantime if you have any additional questions and or concerns, please feel free to contact us with your inquiries.

Best Regards,

Tiffany K.

Consumer Care Specialist
Burt’s Bees Inc
1-800-849-7112 option 2, then 1
Mon-Fri 10am-4:30pm EST

Please consider the environment before printing this email

*Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly
endless.*

* Come Celebrate our 25th anniversary with us at www.burtsbees.com *

Butterball turkey gravy packets are now gluten-free

[Update November 22, 2017: All of the Butterball products are gluten free except for Butterball Stuffed Turkey (bread stuffing) and Butterball Frozen Meatballs.  For our products that are packaged with gravy packets, the gravy packets are gluten free as well. The gravy contains rice flour instead of wheat flour and the modified food starch is corn based. Source: Butterball.]

turkeyThere has been some confusion lately about whether or not Butterball turkey gravy packets are gluten-free. There are six types of Buttterball turkeys that come with a gravy packet. They are listed below and all currently come with a gluten-free gravy packet. The key to understanding if your gravy packet is gluten-free is to READ the label.

Any newly manufactured gravy packet will contain rice flour. According to Butterball (1-800-BUTTERBALL) there are still some older packets of gravy in the stores that contain wheat flour. Therefore, read your packet and make sure it does not contain wheat flour. If it contains wheat flour, you have an older packet and it is therefore not gluten-free. In the future, all of the Butterball gravy packets will be manufactured using rice flour. Read More »

California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) Offers Gluten Free Menu Items

Jenny Manseau Gluten Free Works

[Editor’s Note: September 26, 2011. California Pizza Kitchen has suspended its gluten-free pizza crusts.]

Hello All,

I wanted to share with you a press release that I received today about California Pizza Kitchen:

Hi!

California Pizza Kitchen Gluten-freeThe wait is over! Today California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) has launched gluten free pizza crust, making 29 of their original pizzas available gluten free.

CPK has taken notice of the increased demand with more than 3 million Americans affected by Celiac Disease and created a specialty menu with various gluten free items. Among the 29 different gluten free pizzas available is America’s favorite, The Original BBQ Chicken pizza, the Pear & Gorgonzola pizza and the Wild Mushroom pizza. CPK also offers other gluten free appetizers, soups, salads, specialties, kids items and desserts to choose from on their current menu.

CPK is thrilled to offer those that require gluten free items a menu with the same delicious offering that they’ve always had, now gluten free.

I also saw this on their website: Read More »

California Pizza Kitchen Pulls Gluten-free Pizza Crusts

Kim Bouldin Gluten Free Works

gluten free california pizza kitchenEarlier this summer California Pizza Kitchen debuted gluten-free pizza on their menu. I was giddy. I loved CPK pre-gluten-free and couldn’t wait to go back and try their new pizza. Well,we did,and it was great,but our spirits were quickly dampened by the news that there could be major cross contamination issues going on in the kitchen.

I decided to go back and investigate to see what was going on and whether what I had heard about their procedures was indeed true. I was saddened by what I found out. While it had appeared that CPK went to great lengths to add the gluten-free pizza to their menu,they didn’t consider some of the most important issues. Cross contamination is real and can be very serious. Sure,some of those with Celiac Disease don’t react right away (or even at all),but some do and it isn’t pretty. This doesn’t even take into consideration those Read More »

Calling All Volunteers…Gluten-free Camps Need You

Gluten Free Works Jennifer Harris

Gluten Free CampsThis is the time of year when parents are planning their summer activities and for those kids on the gluten-free diet those plans include attending a gluten-free camp.  There are a number of gluten-free camps out there who are in need of volunteers to perform a variety of tasks.  

They camps lists below are looking for volunteers to work six hour shifts in the kitchen.  If you are interested in helping make this a Read More »

>