Foods

Bard’s Beer Tastes Great and is Gluten Free

Fothergill_Amy_SF_CA

Many people think of food when they think of a gluten free (gf) diet. No regular bagels, pizza or pasta. Many may not realize that when on a gluten free diet, you can’t have anything with wheat, barley, rye or oats (unless the oats are gf). Unfortunately, most beer is made with barley which means it’s on the list of things you can’t have.

bards_gfbeerIf you’ve missed the flavor of beer, you can now try Bard’s Beer, described as a craft beer, which is made from sorghum. According to the website, “sorghum is a genus of numerous species of grasses, some of which are raised for grain that can be used in the production of beer. Sorghum has been used in making beer for centuries in other parts of the world and is naturally gluten-free.” Sorghum can be made into flour which produces an excellent gf bread. Read More »

Bard’s Beer Is Premium American Lager That “Happens to Be Gluten-Free”

John Libonati Gluten Free Works

Bard's Beer Gluten FreeFor more than five years, Bard’s has been the beer I bring to parties and barbecues. Friends who try it for the first time all say the same thing…“Hey, this tastes just like REAL beer!”

That is because Bard’s IS real beer, brewed in the style of American Lager. The only difference is that instead of using barley, Bard’s uses sorghum, a gluten-free grain.

Located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Bard’s Beer was developed by two celiac Read More »

Become a Gluten-free Activist

gluten-free-claire-harrison

gluten free activismOn a recent visit to a museum, my husband and I stopped at its cafeteria for a snack. The choices were cookies and cupcakes, pretzels and potato chips, and assorted drinks.  Clearly, the cafeteria didn’t cater to those of us who are gluten-sensitive, lactose-intolerant, and/or weight watchers.

Much against my will, I bought the only snack I could tolerate although it meant throwing my diet out the window: potato chips.  And much against my dislike of being labeled a complainer, I decided to speak up.  “Would you consider carrying gluten-free products?” I asked. “I can’t eat most of what Read More »

Bell and Evans Gluten Free Items – Chicken

Below is a list of gluten-free items from Bell & Evans.  You can also find hundreds of recipes that can be converted to gluten-free at their website:

http://www.bellandevans.com/index.cfm?act=recipes

Thank you for contacting Bell & Evans.  In addition to our line of breaded, gluten free items, the following are also gluten free:
All fresh chicken

Fully cooked wings  – Honey BBQ and Buffalo Style

Fully cooked grilled breasts – Honey BBQ, Buffalo Style and Plain

Chicken Burgers
As we reprint packaging we are adding gluten free to all these packages.
If I can be of any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Susan Ranck

Quality Assurance Manager

Bell & Evans Poultry

(717)865-6626

www.bellandevans.com

Big Lots Surprises With Lots of Gluten-Free Products

bob's red mill gluten free brownie mixYou expect to find gluten-free food online and in health food stores and big grocery stores, but you never anticipate finding it in your local discount store. I was recently pleasantly surprised to find, among the curling irons and cat food, many GF products in Big Lots, the largest broadline closeout retailer in the U.S.

Big Lots has recently begun carrying several types of Bob’s Red Mill products, most of them gluten-free, and all of them much cheaper than they can be purchased on-line or in a grocery store. I bought Bob’s Gluten-Free Shortbread Cookie Mix and Pizza Crust Mix for 2.90 and a bag of Bob’s Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix for 3.95. In my regular grocery store, these mixes run from 4.95 – 6.95. Big Lots also carries a few brands of GF pasta, all for under 2.00 per package. And you can always find Read More »

Brand New Gluten-free Finds at Expo East

This was my first trip to Expo East and it was like being a kid in a gluten-free candy store.  Since there is such a focus on  gluten-free products, we were literally tripping over the many vendors who had just launched a gluten-free product or had added one to their existing line.

Some of my greatest gluten-free finds are listed below in no particular order:

Bars

  • Pamela’s Products is set to launch their Whenever Bars in three flavors: Oat Raisin Walnut Spice, Oat blueberry Lemon and Oat Cranberry Almond.  These bars are made with certified gluten-free Read More »

Buckwheat: The Gluten-Free Superfood!

Buckwheat200x126

Don’t let the name fool you. Buckwheat is anything but wheat. It is much more nutritious than wheat and, in spite of the name, is completely gluten-free.

Buckwheat has been grown in America since colonial days. Buckwheat was once very common on farms in the northeastern and northcentral United States. Production of buckwheat reached a peak in 1860s at which time the grain was a common livestock-feed and was in demand for making flour. Buckwheat enjoyed a resurgence of popularity in the mid 1970’s that was brought on by the demand for commercially prepared breakfast cereal and by exports to Japan for making buckwheat noodles. This boom was due to the nutritional excellence of buckwheat.(1)

Buckwheat Dietary Uses

Buckwheat flour has a strong, distinctive flavor and is often mixed with other flours to lend its distinctive taste to many baked goods. Buckwheat comes in a few different forms for dietary consumption: Read More »

Butterball turkey gravy packets are now gluten-free

[Update November 22, 2017: All of the Butterball products are gluten free except for Butterball Stuffed Turkey (bread stuffing) and Butterball Frozen Meatballs.  For our products that are packaged with gravy packets, the gravy packets are gluten free as well. The gravy contains rice flour instead of wheat flour and the modified food starch is corn based. Source: Butterball.]

turkeyThere has been some confusion lately about whether or not Butterball turkey gravy packets are gluten-free. There are six types of Buttterball turkeys that come with a gravy packet. They are listed below and all currently come with a gluten-free gravy packet. The key to understanding if your gravy packet is gluten-free is to READ the label.

Any newly manufactured gravy packet will contain rice flour. According to Butterball (1-800-BUTTERBALL) there are still some older packets of gravy in the stores that contain wheat flour. Therefore, read your packet and make sure it does not contain wheat flour. If it contains wheat flour, you have an older packet and it is therefore not gluten-free. In the future, all of the Butterball gravy packets will be manufactured using rice flour. Read More »

Chebe Gluten-Free All-Purpose Mix 7.5 oz. – Product Review

The chewy texture and flavor of this product prove that wheat is not necessary to make good bread. Requires the addition of oil, eggs, and liquid (milk or milk substitute or water). Yeast free and made in a gluten free environment.

Ingredients: Manoic (tapioca) flour, modified manoic starch
(100% manoic), iodine-free salt, cream of tartar, sodium bicarbonate.

Product does not contain:

Gluten, Wheat, Soy, Eggs, Dairy, Nuts, Corn, Peanuts

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 70
Serving per container 10
Amount per Serving: Calories 70
Total Fat 0g, Saturated Fat 0g, Trans Fat 0g, Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 0g, Total Carbohydrates 17g, Dietary Fiber 0g, Sugars 0g, Protein 0g, Vitamin A 0%, Vitamin C 0%, Calcium 0%, Iron 0%

>