Product Lists

Gluten Free Status of General Mills Cereals & Brownie Mixes

rice_chex

General Mills Announcement
3/31/09

“Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in Corn Chex cereal. General Mills is reformulating the following Big G Cereals to gluten free status:

· Corn Chex
· Honey Nut Chex
· Strawberry Chex
· Chocolate Chex
· Cinnamon Chex

As was the case with Gluten Free Rice Chex, the barley malt ingredient was removed and replaced with another ingredient. Production has begun, so you may start seeing the gluten free formulas on store shelves now. All 5 products should be widely available across the U.S. by June 1, 2009. As with all reformulated products, both products may be on store shelves at the same time so please read labels/packaging carefully, examining the product packaging to ensure that the cereal inside the box is in fact the new, gluten free product. Look for “NOW GLUTEN FREE” or “GLUTEN FREE” on the front/side/back panels.

In addition, the following Betty Crocker Gluten Free mixes will be available at approximately the same time:

Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Devils Food Cake Mix
Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet when they are not labeled Gluten Free. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package; and for this reason, we do not offer a gluten-free product list.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing. We want you to be assured that if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the products ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.”

Amy Peters, Consumer Services

Gluten Free Turkey List for Thanksgiving 2010

It is almost Thanksgiving and time for another holiday that centers around food.  This can be a time of stress for some on the gluten-free diet, but with a little research it is easy to determine which turkeys are gluten free.  It is important to note that fresh, plain unstuffed turkeys are naturally gluten free.  All regular stuffed turkeys contain gluten even if you don’t eat it because the gluten stuffing permeates the turkey while it is cooking.  Check the gravy packets very carefully to ensure they are gluten free as most are not safe and should be discarded.

We dined on a Honeysuckle White turkey last year and couldn’t believe how moist and flavorful it was, so that is now our turkey of choice.  If you question the status of a turkey call their customer service line for confirmation.  It is always better to confirm than to wonder or possibly eat a turkey that is not gluten free.  Here’s a list of turkey information from many major brands: Read More »

Gluten-free Apple Cinnamon Chex Arriving on Store Shelves Soon

Gluten Free Works Jennifer Harris

 

Apple Cinnamon Chex

New Apple Cinnamon Chex Photo credit: General Mills

General Mills has added another flavor of gluten-free Chex to its lineup: Apple Cinnamon.  This addition makes six flavors (Honey Nut, Rice, Corn, Chocolate, and Cinnamon) that are gluten free and on supermarket shelves around the country.

Apple Cinnamon Chex Has:

  • No artificial colors or flavors
  • Sprinkled with real apple and cinnamon
  • 8 grams of sugar per serving
  • 9 grams of whole grain (at least 48 grams recommended daily)

When the first batch of gluten-free Chex cereals were released I had more luck finding them at Walmart than at the grocery store, but if you just can’t wait to find them locally you can order them at Amazon.com and at GlutenFreely.com online where they are on sale now.  Read More »

Gluten-free BUSH’S BEST products – reformulated beans are now gluten-free

Libonati_John_Philadelphia_PA

This just in from Mary McSurdy of Kimberton Whole Foods in Pennsylvania. Bush’s Best beans are now gluten-free. Read BUSH’S letter from December 2009 to Mary below.

bushlogo_middle_transAs of this date, all of our BUSH’S BEST products are gluten-free with the exception of our BUSH’S Chili Magic Chili Starter line and our Bush’s Homestyle Chili line.

We are pleased to inform you that we have reformulated our Chili Beans products to no longer contain wheat flour; therefore, changing the ingredient statement on these products to now state Modified Corn Starch. Due to store inventory rotation and other elements beyond our control, Read More »

Gluten-free Halloween Candy Lists

Halloween is quickly approaching and it is important to take the time to determine which candies are gluten free.  We tend to give out gluten-free candies at our house as there are so many great ones from which to choose.  My favorite gluten-free candy has always been Reese peanut butter cups, so we always offer those to our trick-or-treaters.  We couldn’t have been happier to learn that Nature’s Path created a treat-sized version of their Lemur Peanut Choco Drizzle bars and we will be purchasing some to mix in with the more recognizable candies.  Read More »

Gluten-Free Item of the Week: Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter

It’s been awhile since there has been a gluten-free item of the week but the Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter is just too good to go unnoticed.
 
October and November are known for many delicious pumpkin treats: pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie, and pumpkin cookies which all normally contain wheat gluten.  But thanks to Trader Joe’s, you can get into the festive spirit by spreading a little pumpkin butter on your favorite gluten-free items – from gluten-free Read More »

Gluten-free Pizza Coming to California Pizza Kitchen

Gluten Free Works Jennifer Harris

[Editor’s Note: California Pizza Kitchen introduced gluten-free crusts but pulled the product due to cross contamination.  Updated August 3, 2012]

gluten free california pizza kitchenYes, you read that title right.  California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) will add gluten-free crust to its June 29th new menu roll out. The chain already has a gluten-free menu, but it has not included pizza until now.

“The new menu will introduce nine new items, as well as a new focus on identifying options for better health and wellness,” said CPK’s co-chief executive Rick Rosenfield.  The new menu will identify the chain’s use of Read More »

Gluten-free Round Up..Product, Grocery Store and Restaurant News of the Week

It is so fun to pass on all the new information learned about gluten-free products, shopping and dining.  The list below reflects what this Examiner learned over the last week.

  • Thanks go out to The Crispy Cook for compiling a list of gluten-free blogs with links to each one.  After reviewing the list, this Examiner discovered a number of blogs to check out and is excited to see what they have to offer.
  • Artisan gluten-free breads are now available from A Bountiful Harvest in a number of flavors.  Their breads are baked one loaf at a time naturally without artificial flavors, colorants, preservatives or additives and they are fresh baked to order for each Read More »

Gluten-free Round Up: Product and Restaurant News of the Week

The world of gluten-free is just bursting with news this month.  It almost seems like there is more going on this month than the last quarter of 2010.  Great new for the gluten-free community, but it definitely makes it harder to keep up with the onslaught of new information.

Photo: Kikkomanusa.com

Listed below is the gluten-free news this Examiner has heard about this past week.

  • Breads from Anna is getting ready to launch two new gluten-free mixes: Black Bean Brownie and Pizza Crust.  More details can be found here.  

 

  • Kikkoman’s new gluten-free soy sauce is a Tamari-style soy sauce brewed with rice instead of wheat. Take note, though, that the sodium content (960 mg per one-tablespoon serving) is high compared with reduced-sodium, gluten-free soy sauces produced bySan-JLa Choy and Kari-Out.  Thanks for Gluten Free Philly for the information.

  Read More »

>