Cooking

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Morning Glory Muffin Recipe

Gluten Free Works Author Teri Gruss

Gluten-Free Morning Glory Muffins
2010 © Teri Lee Gruss, licensed to About.com, Inc.

The original Morning Glory muffin recipe is said to have originated on Nantucket Island, the creation of Chef Pam McKinstry. I can’t think of a better gluten-free breakfast and snack muffin than Morning Glory muffins with well over a quart of healthy fruits, carrots and nuts added. And these fragrant cinnamon spiced muffins are gluten and dairy free.

This recipe is a gluten-free adaptation of “The Original Morning Glory Muffins” which appears in The Earthbound Farm Organics Cookbook – Food to Live By by Myra Goodman with Linda Holland and Pamela McKinstry.

Prep Time: 30 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 55 minutes

Ingredients: Read More »

Hidden Valley® Salad Dressings Adds Gluten Free Promise to Packaging

Kristen Beals Gluten Free Works

OAKLAND, Calif., April 18, 2012 — Add Hidden Valley Salad Dressings to the growing list of foods to clearly call out that they are gluten free.

The makers of Hidden Valley Salad Dressings have added a “Gluten Free” logo to bottles and dry packets of its signature Original Ranch® dressing as well as much of its Farmhouse Originals product line. Packages with the new logo should appear on store shelves this summer.

The packaging change is designed to help Read More »

Homemade Gluten-Free Mayonnaise Recipe – Food Processor Method

gluten free mayonnaise

Gluten Free Mayonnaise Image. 2013 (c) Teri Gruss

Mayonnaise is a kitchen staple that adds rich flavor and binds ingredients in dishes from tuna salad to crab cakes.

If you’ve ever tasted homemade mayonnaise, you know that the rich flavor and silky texture is nothing like what we buy at the grocery store. There are many good reasons to learn how to make homemade mayonnaise, first and foremost because it’s incredibly easy and calls for ingredients that most of us have on hand every day. Read More »

How to make gluten free halloween sugar cookies

Don’t let dried out gluten-free sugar cookie dough ruin your Halloween. Here is a easy and delicious recipe for rolled sugar cookies. You don’t even need to refrigerate the dough and the cookies freeze very well.

Ingredients:halloween_cookies_indiatree_com

1 cup rice flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1 cup potato starch
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup cane or beet sugar
1 cup shortening
1 egg
2 teaspoons GF vanilla extract
potato starch, for kneading

In the bowl of a mixer, cream together sugar and shortening. Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined. Add all dry ingredients and combine until the dough forms a ball. Read More »

How to Use Millet in Gluten-Free Recipes

Millet has been used as food for thousands of years.

Millet has been used as food for thousands of years.

Millets – Important Food Source Worldwide:

The millets, a group of thousands of varieties of grass-like annual plants that bear small to miniscule-sized seeds belong to the Gramineae family of plants.Food anthropologists believe that millet was the first cereal plant domesticated by man. Today millet is considered the 6th most important grain crop in the world.

The most common varieties of millet include pearl, proso, foxtail, finger and teff (Ethiopian millet). Millet has been a major source of protein and energy for millions of people in Asia, Africa and India for thousands of years.

Bird Food or People Food?: Read More »

Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?

bakingpowderQuestion: Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?

Gluten-free baking recipes frequently call for “gluten-free” baking powder and some products are labeled “gluten-free.” Why is that? Learn what’s in baking powder and even make your own fresh gluten-free baking powder at home.

Answer:

No, not all brands of baking powder are gluten-free. Baking powder is made from baking soda, cream of tartar (a bi-product of wine production) and a “moisture absorption agent” which is usually, but not always cornstarch. Other starches including potato starch (gluten-free) and wheat starch (contains gluten) can be used in baking powder products.

Therefore, not all brands of baking powder are gluten-free. According to manufacturer information, the following baking powder brands are gluten-free. Most of these products are available at large and small grocery stores in the United States. Read More »

Is brown rice syrup really gluten-free?

Brown rice syrup is the go-to for many gluten-free bakers.  Gluten-free recipes everywhere call for the stuff and indeed, it lends a perfectly sweet flavor to cakes, cookies, muffins, and scones.  But the syrup is controversial in the world of gluten intolerance and Celiac Disease because in some cases, it contains gluten.

Some, though not all, brown rice syrup is actually fermented in a process that employs barley.   Read More »

It’s Almost Time for Summer Salads

Summer is coming and fresh vegetables — in the stores, at the farmer’s markets and in your garden — will be plentiful. It’s time for summer salads.

Try this delicious salad as a side dish or even as a main. It’s light and satisfying.

Use the ingredients list as a guide. If you don’t have peppers, use what is on hand. If you don’t like cilantro, it’s fine not to use it at all; many people don’t like it. Use any lettuce, even finely sliced cabbage. See the tip below for how to make your red onion a little mellower. Or see what’s in your fridge, open a can of black beans, defrost some corn, and you have a delicious salad great for lunch or a party. Enjoy! Read More »

Karo Corn Syrup Is Gluten Free and Allergen-friendly

Karo Corn Syrup Photo: www.karosyrup.com

Karo corn syrup is gluten-free.  There was some confusion about Karo since it contains caramel coloring.  A few of my readers were concerned about the coloring and here is what the manufacturer of Karo Syrup has to say.

“All Karo Syrup products are free of gluten, soy, milk, egg, peanut and tree nuts. The syrup production facility does not contain ingredients with these allergens, so cross contamination is not an issue. While some caramel colorings Read More »

>