A recent New York Times article with the title “Vatican Refuses to Go Gluten-Free at Communion” has caused quite a stir, with other news organizations quickly picking up the story and running similarly sensational headlines. Opinion leaders on social media jumped on the topic and word spread that gluten-free Catholics were being refused Communion.
I am not sure if this qualifies as “fake news,” but the headlines are definitely wrong.
According to the Catholic Church, Communion is the joining of the person to God by eating bread or wine that has been transfigured into the body and blood of Jesus Christ.
The New York Times and any other media outlet or individual who claims the Vatican is withholding gluten-free Communion from Catholics is factually incorrect. The Catholic Church offers multiple ways to receive Communion, and some are gluten-free.
In fact, all Catholic bishops have informed their parish priests that they must make Communion available to Catholic parishioners with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity in forms other than the regular bread hosts in order to meet their needs.
The Vatican simply published a statement reaffirming the position it previously stated in 2003 on the subject of gluten-free Communion. Hosts not made from wheat are invalid. So, what forms are gluten-free? Read More »