The holiday season is upon us! Celebrations all around, and parties abound, but regardless of your reason to have a gathering, if you or one of your party guests is gluten free, make sure you have plenty of beverages available that are not only safe to drink, but are as delicious as the rest of your drink options.
Tag Archives: Gluten free beer
Harvester Brewing’s Gluten-Free Red Ale joins Pale and Dark Ales in Year Round All GF Line-Up
Responding to popular demand, Harvester Brewing is bringing their Red Ale into year-round production. The Red Ale was originally released as one of the Experiment Ale series of seasonal/rotating beers. The Red Ale will have its own label, joining the Pale Ale and Dark Ale in the year-round line-up. Read More »
June 20th is the official start of Summer! And what better way to celebrate than with a cool new t-shirt from one of the hottest gluten-free beer makers?
Bard’s Beer is counting down the days to summer by giving away a Bard’s Beer t-shirt to a random winner every day from June 1 to June 20.
That is because Bard’s IS real beer, brewed in the style of American Lager. The only difference is that instead of using barley, Bard’s uses sorghum, a gluten-free grain.
Redbridge gluten-free beer seemed to be a thing of the past earlier this year. All of a sudden it disappeared from grocery stores shelves. Tiffany Janes at Celiac-Disease.com reported that after speaking with a representative from Anheuser-Busch, she confirmed that the beer was being reformulated, not discontinued.
It seems the beer was too high in alcohol to be sold in every state. The beer was reformulated to contain only 4% alcohol instead of 4.7%. This now allows the beer to be sold in all 50 states.
I’ve been gluten free since 2002, and I’m embarrassed to say that up until a few weeks ago, I hadn’t tried Uno Chicago Grill’s Gluten Free menu, which they’ve been offering for almost 2 years. Actually, the last time I was there, it was still called “Pizzeria Uno”. But recently, a bunch of us were stuck at Washington, DC’s Union Station for a couple of hours, and there just happened to be a Uno’s there, which seemed to be the only restaurant in the station offering gluten free foods.
I was pleasantly surprised. No – really, I was GIDDY! There was pizza! There was beer (Redbridge)! There was dessert! Read More »
Many people think of food when they think of a gluten free (gf) diet. No regular bagels, pizza or pasta. Many may not realize that when on a gluten free diet, you can’t have anything with wheat, barley, rye or oats (unless the oats are gf). Unfortunately, most beer is made with barley which means it’s on the list of things you can’t have.
If you’ve missed the flavor of beer, you can now try Bard’s Beer, described as a craft beer, which is made from sorghum. According to the website, “sorghum is a genus of numerous species of grasses, some of which are raised for grain that can be used in the production of beer. Sorghum has been used in making beer for centuries in other parts of the world and is naturally gluten-free.” Sorghum can be made into flour which produces an excellent gf bread. Read More »