Domino's Pizza recently announced it would offer gluten-free pizza for gluten sensitive customers. Domino's made it clear that the pizzas used a gluten-free crust, but are manufactured using the same equipment as the other gluten-containing foods and are not safe for people with celiac disease.
Domino's worked with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) and received the NFCA's new, and now suspended, "Amber Designation." This designation was to tell people that although the ingredients are gluten-free, the product cannot claim that cross contamination does not occur. The "Amber Designation" differed from the NFCA's existing "Green Designation," which tells the customer that the product is tested to less than 10 parts per million of gluten. "Amber" was basically a caution sign.
What Did Gluten-Free Watchdog Organizations Say?
- The Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) and other organizations called for a recall of the NFCA's "Amber Designation."
- The North American Society for the Study of Celiac Disease commented on Domino’s Pizza ‘Gluten-Free’ Crust Announcement as follows,