Posts Tagged ‘Alcoholic’

 

Jen Cafferty

Grilled Pineapple with Gluten-free Rum Sauce

August 23rd, 2010 by Jen Cafferty


Looking for a decadent dessert for a hot summer night?  Make this quick and easy grilled pineapple with gluten-free rum sauce.  It is delicious and very easy to make.

Grilled Pineapple with Rum Sauce

Ingredients (more…)


Amy Fothergill

Bard’s Beer Tastes Great and is Gluten Free

January 5th, 2010 by Amy Fothergill

Fothergill_Amy_SF_CA

Many people think of food when they think of a gluten free (gf) diet. No regular bagels, pizza or pasta. Many may not realize that when on a gluten free diet, you can't have anything with wheat, barley, rye or oats (unless the oats are gf). Unfortunately, most beer is made with barley which means it's on the list of things you can't have.

bards_gfbeerIf you've missed the flavor of beer, you can now try Bard's Beer, described as a craft beer, which is made from sorghum. According to the website, "sorghum is a genus of numerous species of grasses, some of which are raised for grain that can be used in the production of beer. Sorghum has been used in making beer for centuries in other parts of the world and is naturally gluten-free." Sorghum can be made into flour which produces an excellent gf bread. (more…)