Posts Tagged ‘Agar’

 

Teri Gruss, MS

How to Use Gelatin and Agar Agar in Gluten-Free Cooking

November 4th, 2011 by Teri Gruss, MS


Gluten Free Works Author Teri Gruss

 

gluten_free_agar

Agar agar is gluten-free, vegan and works as a thickener in recipes.

Gelatin and agar agar powder can be used interchangably in gluten-free recipes, but what are the differences in these gluten-free ingredients and why are they used in some gluten-free recipes?

 

Gelatin

Most cooks are familiar with gelatin- the stuff that makes Jello gel. You can find it in virtually every market, usually as Knox brand gelatin.

Gelatin is sometimes used in gluten-free recipes to bind and thicken (more…)