Archive for the ‘Gluten free’ Category

 

John Libonati

Festive Gluten-Free Almond Fruitcake

December 2nd, 2008 by John Libonati


Foolproof Christmas option for gluten-intolerant (+ recipe)

Home » Lifestyle » Food & Wine
Wed, 3 Dec 2008
Food & Wine

A festive almond fruitcake with a difference. This festive almond fruitcake is a superb alternative for those who are wheat- or gluten-intolerant or who would simply like to try a different Christmas cake.
The dried fruit and almonds, both chopped and ground, are glued together with a minimum of batter.

It is an easy and foolproof cake to make.

Rich, moist and delicious, it is best served in small slices.

Use a small serrated knife to cut.

The cake will keep for up to three months if wrapped in foil and stored in the refrigerator.

It’s great to have on hand right through the holidays.

For those with a mild glucose intolerance, a half tsp of baking powder is unlikely to be a problem.

When I checked the supermarket shelves to see what baking powders are available, I discovered that Edmonds is now gluten-free.

You can, if you wish, substitute a half tsp cream of tartar and a quarter tsp baking soda for the baking powder in this recipe to make a gluten-free raising agent, or just buy a gluten-free baking powder.

1kg mixed dried fruit
120g whole brown skinned almonds, roughly chopped
70g maize cornflour
1/2 tsp baking powder
70g ground almonds
3 eggs, size 6
1/4 cup honey, warmed
1 tsp natural almond essence
2 Tbsp amaretto liqueur or brandy (optional)

Line the base and sides of a 20cm square cake tin.

Combine dried fruits and chopped nuts in a large bowl and mix thoroughly.

Sift the cornflour and baking powder together and stir in the ground almonds.

Mix well.

Beat eggs and honey in a medium-sized bowl with an electric mixer until thick and creamy.

Beat in almond essence.

Stir the cornflour and almond mixture into the beaten eggs, mixing well.

Pour this into the bowl containing the dried fruit and nuts and stir until thoroughly combined.

Spread into the prepared tin, pushing it well into the corners.

Smooth the top.

Place just below the centre of an oven which has been heated to 150degC.

Cook for 1hr 35min to 1hr 50min.

The cake should be golden brown, feel firm to touch and a skewer inserted in the centre of the cake should come out clean.

Remove from the oven and brush the hot cake with amaretto, brandy or a liqueur of your choice.

Cool completely, wrap in foil and store in the refrigerator.

It is ready for eating within 12 hours of baking.

This is not a cake for icing.

I serve it just as it is, but you could brush the top with an apricot jam glaze and decorate with glace fruits.

- Joan Bishop

Article Source: http://www.odt.co.nz:80/lifestyle/food-wine/34329/foolproof-christmas-option-gluten-intolerant-recipe


By John Libonati

Commonly asked questions on nutrition and Celiac Disease, answered by Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, of the Celiac Disease Center at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Ms. Dennis has herself had Celiac Disease for more than 17 years.

Q. What is it like for a person you see who is newly diagnosed with Celiac Disease?
A. The gluten-free diet requires more preparation, taking food with you when you travel, making sure that you are safe in dining-out situations or when you are visiting with family or friends. So for some, it is very simple and straight forward and they are already experimenting with new grains like amaranth, buckwheat, millet, sorghum, and teff. But some people are completely unfamiliar with these grains and it is a bit more of a stretch for them. Many people just eat on the run these days and this really makes it challenging.
Others are in complete denial. Perhaps they were having no symptoms but this was discovered through a blood test and they think – do I really need to change my life? Those are the people who, understandably, ask “how much can I get away with?” So there are all different types of people. But more and more people are coming into the clinic well educated about this because of the good information on the web. That’s a big change from about seven or so years ago when there were very few resources.
 

Q. There are many gluten-free foods on the market now. Does this make it easier for those diagnosed with Celiac Disease?
A. Yes. But it’s important to stress that the gluten-free diet isn’t just about what we need to take out of our meals, it’s about making sure the foods you do choose have lots of nutrients. Rice, corn and potatoes have a really high glycemic index, and they don’t have a lot of fiber. They can create food cravings. They can lead to weight gain and they are not nutritionally dense. So when we think of Celiac Disease, we think – how can we make up for the fact that we don’t have a very high protein wheat product any longer? What can we substitute and what would be superior? That’s when we work on educating about other grains that are healthier and have plenty of vitamins and minerals. Several of the gluten-free foods are now fortified with B vitamins, iron and trace minerals, and you can check the labels to make sure.
 

Q. It’s great there are more gluten-free options, but even reading the labels don’t always help. What items have hidden gluten?
A. Lots of things you wouldn’t expect contain gluten. Toothpaste can have gluten; you have to be careful to wash your hands carefully after feeding your dog because chow usually contains gluten. Dental pumice that is used to polish your teeth may contain gluten. Soy sauce, gravies and marinades are suspect. Even communion wafers. Patients need to be educated on all of this, because consistent exposure to gluten will lead to increased damage to the small intestine.
 

Q. Do most patients eventually adopt a healthy, gluten-free diet?
A. Most patients, even those who have a hard time with the diagnosis, do learn how to eat well. From my own experience, I feel it was actually a blessing to be diagnosed. It changed my life for the better. It empowered me to make the right decisions, to eat well—actually better than I had ever eaten before. I travel more now and experiment with tasty foods, more ethnic food, as well. So it’s a good thing to have a diagnosis—and learn the best ways to take care of your body and be healthy.

Above content provided by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.
For advice about your medical care, consult your doctor.
Source: http://www.thebostonchannel.com:80/bethisrael-old/17014446/detail.html

————————
“””Author Information: John Libonati, Philadelphia, PA
Publisher, Glutenfreeworks.com.
Editor & Publisher, Recognizing Celiac Disease.
John can be reached by e-mail here.”””

John Libonati

Gluten Free Heinz Product List

July 23rd, 2008 by John Libonati

This list of gluten-free products manufactured by Heinz just in from the Knoxville Celiac Listserve.To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
http://celi-act.com/mailman/listinfo/knoxceliacs_celi-act.com
or, via email, send a message with subject or body ‘help’ to
knoxceliacs-request@celi-act.comThank you for your interest in Heinz Products. We certainly understand how
difficult it can be to find foods that meet the requirements of a restricted
diet. 
 
As you requested, the following is a listing of all of our products that do
 NOT have gluten containing ingredients. If the product you asked about is not
 on this list, then it may contain  gluten containing ingredients.
 
HEINZ PRODUCTS:  
Heinz BBQ Sauces  (Original, Chicken & Rib, Garlic, Honey Garlic Only)
> Heinz Chili Sauce
> Heinz Cocktail Sauce
> Heinz Horseradish Sauce
> Heinz Ketchup   
> Heinz Organic Ketchup
> Heinz One-Carb Ketchup
> Heinz No-Sodium Added Ketchup
> Heinz Hot and Spicy Kick’rs
> Heinz Easy Squeeze Ketchup
> Heinz  Mustard   (All Varieties)
> Heinz Pickles  (All Varieties)
> Heinz  Peppers  (All Varieties)
> Heinz Relish  (All Varieties)
> Heinz Sloppy Joe Sauce
> Heinz Traditional Steak Sauce
> Heinz Vegetarian Beans
> Heinz Distilled White Vinegar
> Heinz Red Wine Vinegar
> Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar
> Heinz Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar
> Heinz Red Wine Vinegar
> Heinz Garlic Wine Vinegar
> Jack Daniel’s BBQ Sauces  (Original #7, Honey Smokehouse, Hickory Brown Sugar,
> Spicy BBQ Only) 
> Jack Daniel’s EZ Marinader — Teriyaki Variety
> Jack Daniel’s EZ Marinader — Garlic & Herb Variety
> Jack Daniel’s Steak Sauce (Both Varieties)
> Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce
> Lea & Perrins Traditional Steak Sauce

 
 
 
 
 
TGI Fridays Salsa  (All Varieties)
                  
CLASSICO PRODUCTS:
> Classico Red Sauces  (All Varieties)
> Classico Alfredo Sauces (All Varieties)
> Classico Pesto Sauces  (All Varieties)
> Classico Bruschetta (All Varieties)
>        
> DELIMEX PRODUCTS:
> UPC CODE:       PRODUCT NAME:
> 1769600012        Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Chicken
> 1769600018        Tamales, 12 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600019        Tamales, 12 ct. Delimex Chicken & Cheese
> 1769600020        Taquitos, 24 ct. Smart & Final Beef
> 1769600024        Tamales, 6 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600028        Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600029        Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex Chicken
> 1769600048        Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600095        Taquitos, 12 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600096        Taquitos, 12 ct. Delimex Chicken
> 1769600133        Taquitos, 22 ct. Schwan’s Beef w/ Salsa
> 1769600155        Tamales, 15 ct. Costco Beef
> 1769600159        Tamales, 20 ct. Delimex Beef, Costco
> 1769600180        Taquitos, 60 ct. Delimex Beef
> 1769600186        Taquitos, 60 ct. Sam’s Club Beef
> 1769600206        Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe’s Beef
> 1769600207        Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe’s Chicken & Cheese
> 1769600214        Taquitos, 25 ct. Delimex 3-Cheese
> 1769600222        Tamales, 6 ct. Schwan’s Beef
> 1769600481        Taquitos, 36 ct. Delimex Beef (Mexico Import)
> 1769600500        Taquitos, Delimex Beef / Deli-Pak
> 1769600505        Taquitos, Mini, 40 ct. Beef, Snacker Tray w/ salsa
> 1769600554        Tamales, Cheese Deli Bulk Pack
> 1769600555        Tamales, Chicken Deli Bulk Pack
> 1769600556        Tamales, Beef Deli Bulk Pack
> 1769600565        Tamales, 20 ct.Beef, Sams Club
> 1769600684        Taquitos, 66 ct. Costco Beef
> 1769600685        Taquitos, 66 ct. Costco Chicken
 

> 1769601208        Tamales, 2 ct. Trader Joe’s Cheese & Green Chiles
         
ORE-IDA PRODUCTS:
 UPC CODE:           PRODUCT NAME:
> 13120XXXXX-        ALL VARIETIES of Ore-Ida? Tater Tots?
 >1312000080         Ore-Ida Golden Patties? (9 ct.)
> 1312000198         Ore-Ida? Snackin’ Fries ? (10.5 oz.)
> 1312000258         Ore-Ida? Golden Fries? (32 oz.)
> 1312000278         Ore-Ida? Golden Fries?  (5 lb.)
> 1312000286         Ore-Ida? Golden Crinkles? (32 oz.)
> 1312000291         Ore-Ida? Golden Crinkles? (5 lb.)
> 1312000296         Ore-Ida? Pixie Crinkles (26 oz.)
> 1312000377         Ore-Ida? Cottage Fries (32 oz.)
> 1312000392         Ore-Ida? Southern Style Hash Browns (32 oz.)
> 1312001417         Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Fast Food Fries (26 oz.)
> 1312000469         Ore-Ida? Potatoes O’Brien (28 oz.)
> 1312000647         Ore-Ida? French Fries (8 lb.)
> 1312000654         Ore-Ida? Country Style Hashbrowns (6 lb.)
> 1312000801         Ore-Ida? Shoestrings? (5 lb)
> 1312000809         Ore-Ida? Crunch Time Classics Straight Cut (24 oz.)
> 1312000810         Ore-Ida? Crunch Time Classics Crinkle Cut (24 oz.)
> 1312000828         Ore-Ida? Shoestrings? (28 oz.)
> 1312000829         Ore-Ida? Shoestrings? (40 oz.)
> 1312000833         Ore-Ida? Country Style Hashbrowns (30 oz.)
> 1312000845         Ore-Ida? Deep Fries Crinkle Cuts (24 oz.)
> 1312000854         Ore-Ida? Hash Browns (5 lb.)
> 1312000862         Ore-Ida? Country Style Hashbrowns (6 lb.)
> 1312001012         Ore-Ida? Potato Wedges with Skins (24 oz.)
> 1312001190         Ore-Ida? Steak Fries (3.75 lb.)
> 1312008564         Ore-Ida? Golden Crinkles?  (8 lb.)
> 1312008565         Ore-Ida? Golden Fries?  (8 lb.)
> 1312008572         Ore-Ida? Golden Crinkles? (8 lb.)
                 
Again, we appreciate you taking the time to contact us.   If you need further
 information, feel free to call us at this toll-free number (1-800-255-5750).
 Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM until 6:00 PM, Eastern
 Time.
 
Heinz Consumer Resource Center
 Heinzconsumeraffairs@us.hjheinz.com
 
When contacting us, please refer to the following reference number: 002865985A
 
HEINZ/JNEEL
 
P.S. – For your convenience, here’s a recipe for a barbecue sauce without
 gluten-containing ingredients:
 
Heinz Ketchup Basic Barbecue Sauce
 
1/2 cup Heinz Tomato Ketchup
 1/4 cup water
 2 tablespoons brown sugar
 2 tablespoons Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar
 2 tablespoons Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce
 1 teaspoon chili powder
 1/2 teaspoon celery seed
 1/2 teaspoon salt
 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
 
In saucepan, combine all ingredients.
 Simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes.
 Brush ribs or chicken with sauce during last 10 minutes of grilling or
 broiling.  
 
Makes about 3/4 cup of sauce.
 

John Libonati

Ghirardelli Chocolate Bars & Squares Not Gluten Free

July 19th, 2008 by John Libonati

Ghirardelli Chocolate bars and squares are NOT gluten-free.

From GlutenFree Indy, excerpt from a post on a well known chocolate
bar:

Thank you for your email regarding Ghirardelli Chocolate.  The
60%Bittersweet Chocolate Chips are manufactured on a line free of
gluten.   In June 2008, the Ghirardelli Chocolate Company  introduced
new milk chocolate bar which has a barley gluten as an ingredient.  As
a result,the line which produces our chocolate bars and squares will
no longer be safe for consumers with gluten allergens
. Kind regards,
Shawna OrtezSenior Consumer Affairs Coordinator Ghirardelli Chocolate
Company1111 – 139th AvenueSan Leandro, CA  94578

This article describes safety standards for internationally shipped baby food and includes benchmarks for producing gluten-free foods set by the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Food and Agricultural Organisation (FAO).

Tue Jul 1, 2008 1:59pm BST  Email | Print | Share| Single Page| Recommend (0) [-] Text [+]  
1 of 1Full SizeBy Laura MacInnis

GENEVA (Reuters) – Diplomats in Geneva have agreed new limits for bacteria in baby formula and natural toxins in nuts, setting safety standards to apply for internationally shipped food, the World Health Organisation said on Tuesday.

At a meeting of the Codex Alimentarius Commission, a joint body of the WHO and the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), officials also set benchmarks for producing gluten-free foods.

Peter Ben Embarek, a scientist in the WHO’s food safety division, said the adoption of the “landmark” code of hygienic practices for powdered formula could reduce contamination from two bacteria that can cause severe illness and death in babies.

People with wheat allergies would also be protected by the standards for gluten-free food that countries pledged to work into their national legislation, and to meet in food exports under World Trade Organisation (WTO) rules.

“They have to use these standards as the baseline standards to be able to trade at the international level,” Embarek told a news briefing on the second day of the week-long Codex meeting.

The new benchmark dictates that food labeled gluten-free may not contain wheat, rye, barley or oats, and its gluten level may not exceed 20 milligrams per kilogram. Gluten intolerance can cause symptoms ranging from abdominal pain to osteoporosis.

The 124 countries participating in this week’s Codex meeting also agreed maximum levels for aflatoxins — natural toxins that are known carcinogens in laboratory animals — in almonds, hazelnuts and pistachios.

FOOD CODE

The Codex Alimentarius, or food code, is a global reference for consumers, food producers, food processors, national food control agencies and international food traders.

Its standards — meant to avert contamination, spoiling and ill-health — are the benchmarks against which the WTO reviews countries’ adherence to international trade agreements on food safety and sanitation.

Other topics to be considered this week include flavorings, frozen foods, natural mineral water, tomatoes, bitter cassava, and bivalve mollusks such as mussels, oysters and clams.

The Commission, whose full membership includes 176 countries plus the European Union, is also due to discuss the food safety impacts of veterinary drugs, animal feeds, and pesticides.

Groups including the International Chewing Gum Association, the International Peanut Forum, the International Association of Fish Inspectors, the International Baby Food Action Network, the World Sugar Research Organisation and the World Self-Medication Industry have observer status at the meeting, which ends Friday.

(Additional reporting by Stephanie Nebehay)

http://www.reuters.com/article/newsOne/idUSL0166682420080701?pageNumber=2&virtualBrandChannel=10216&sp=true

John Libonati

Bell and Evans Gluten Free Items – Chicken

June 24th, 2008 by John Libonati

Below is a list of gluten-free items from Bell & Evans.  You can also find hundreds of recipes that can be converted to gluten-free at their website:

http://www.bellandevans.com/index.cfm?act=recipes

Thank you for contacting Bell & Evans.  In addition to our line of breaded, gluten free items, the following are also gluten free:
All fresh chicken

Fully cooked wings  – Honey BBQ and Buffalo Style

Fully cooked grilled breasts – Honey BBQ, Buffalo Style and Plain

Chicken Burgers
As we reprint packaging we are adding gluten free to all these packages.
If I can be of any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Susan Ranck

Quality Assurance Manager

Bell & Evans Poultry

(717)865-6626

www.bellandevans.com

John Libonati

Everyone on a Gluten Free Diet?

May 15th, 2008 by John Libonati

The below article by Nadine Grzeskowiak is a good explanation of why the gluten-free diet can work for anyone and everyone and pitfalls of the celiac tests.  Medical experts speak of the gluten-free diet as if it is something strange, yet most unprocessed foods you cook yourself are naturally gluten free.  All meats, seafood, fruits, vegetables, nuts, legumes, dairy (unless gluten was added to them), corn, rice and other grains,(besides wheat, barley, rye or oats), naturally do not contain harmful gluten.  Wheat, barley, rye and oats don’t contain any nutrients you cannot get in other foods, so what is the big deal with not eating them?Nadine’s article is excellent.  The only thing I would add is if you do eliminate the gluten grains of wheat, barley, rye and oats and feel better within two weeks, get yourself tested for celiac disease.  A positive diagnosis makes dealing with healthcare providers much easier.  That said, if it comes back negative but you feel better being gluten-free then eliminate gluten from your diet and be healthy.You can find Nadine’s blog article at http://glutenfreern.com:80/everyone-on-a-gluten-free-diet/-John Libonati, Editor Glutenfreeworks.com
john.libonati@glutenfreeworks.com

Discussion | | Nadine Grzeskowiak | May 13, 2008

I have thought for a long time about this very question.  Who would suggest such a thing?  I would.  The main reason I would dare to make such a statement is because we have been so negligent in recognizing and treating people with celiac disease.  Not a day goes by that I don’t hear about or speak to someone directly who has suffered needlessly for years.  The other main point I want to make is that NONE of the currently available testing is 100%.  The blood tests and endoscopic biopsies are great tools if they are positive.  If they are negative, I have heard of too many people tell me ‘I don’t have celiac disease, my blood test/biopsy was negative’.  This is a major cause for concern to me.  Both of these tests do not confirm you don’t have, or will never develop celiac disease.  First, neither test is 100% reliable.  Second, both tests are simply a snapshot of right now.  I have also seen test results that are clearly positive for celiac disease, but read as negative by a medical provider that does not understand what the results mean.  The genetic testing is great and it is my first choice when testing people.  The test is a cheek swab, I get results in one week and it is covered by most insurances.  I utilize Kimball Genetics in Denver, Colorado,  www.kimballgenetics.com.  I have run into this scenerio in the past week: a 12 year old on a gluten free diet for several months, a remarkable recovery from many symptoms while on the gluten free diet, and yet, she tests negative for DQ2 and DQ8.  Is she at risk for celiac disease if she eats gluten?  Are there other genes that could be looked at?  I am gathering more data on this because nothing is black and white with gluten intolerance, there are many grey areas.  Other than, of course, the need to be on a strict gluten free diet for the rest of your life if you have celiac disease.  Not much grey there. 

So, this leads me back to the original question: everyone on a gluten free diet?  In my perfect world, the answer would be a resounding YES!  If people would simply try the gluten free diet for a month, most, if not all of those people will feel better.  It remains simply a diet change.  Change your diet and feel better, doesn’t that sound appealing.  To some yes, and to others, not really. Not without the proof that they need to change their long held diet and lifestyle habits.  It also sounds quite un-American to say ‘I can’t eat wheat, barley, rye and oats’, by extension, bread, pies, cakes, beer and pizza.  My most recent convert to a gluten free diet, said to me, “You know I don’t even miss the bread anymore, it doesn’t even appeal to me, I feel so much better on the gluten free food”.  This is a woman who has had symptoms for most of her 76 years and I had a hard time convincing her to try the gluten free diet for a month.  She is convinced now.  I can tell many stories with the same happy ending.  I can also tell you that most men have a harder time changing anything, let alone their diet, than women.  Trust me, I am a nurse and I have no reason to lie to you.  Try it.  Go gluten free for a month and contact me with your results.  GO!

John Libonati

Rice Chex is now gluten free!

April 1st, 2008 by John Libonati

This just in from the Cincinnati Celiac Support Group listserve:

Rice Chex is now gluten-free – click the link below and check out the label where it says gluten-free on the middle of the box…
 
http://www.generalmills.com/corporate/brands/product_image.aspx?catID=23344&itemID=131

This was the response someone received on the Delphi Celiac Disease Forum when they emailed General Mills about the cross contamination issue:
 
Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry.  Rice Chex has been reformulated to insure that it does not include gluten-containing ingredients or have the possibility of cross contact with gluten containing ingredients or products.
We hope you find this information helpful.  Please let us know if we can help you again.
 
Sincerely,
 
Connie Sellers
Consumer Services

BE AWARE THAT OLDER, BARLEY MALT CONTAINING BOXES MAY STILL BE ON THE SHELVES!  MAKE SURE TO READ THE INGREDIENT LABEL.

John Libonati

Spelt Bread Recall by Food For Life Baking Company

March 20th, 2008 by John Libonati

Food For Life Baking Company of Corona, California is voluntarily recalling 2,241 cases of Spelt Bread (UPC# 07347200168) because they contain spelt grain which is known to be a hybrid of wheat. People who have allergies to wheat or those with Celiac Disease may run the risk of a serious or life threatening allergic reaction if they consume spelt products.
The recalled products were sold nationwide through health food distributors and natural food retailers.

Food For Life Spelt Bread is sold frozen in a 24 oz. (680g) light blue package and bears either of the two following descriptions

Food For LIfe, Wheat Alternative Spelt Bread
Food For Life, Fruit Juice Sweetened Spelt Bread
Affected lot numbers are: H1847, H2042, H2136, H2435, H2872, H2974, H3224, H3460, I0485.

No illnesses have been reported to date in connection with this problem.

The recall was initiated as a precautionary measure following an FDA investigation concluding that the product contained undeclared wheat.

This recall is being made with the knowledge and in cooperation with the Food and Drug Administration.

Consumers who have purchased any of these products are urged to return them unopened to the place of purchase for a refund.

Consumers with questions may contact us toll free at: (800) 797-5090.

http://www.fda.gov/oc/po/firmrecalls/foodforlife03_08.html

John Libonati

Jennies Macaroons Adds New Flavor To Gluten-Free Line

March 12th, 2008 by John Libonati

New all-natural chocolate macaroons debut at Natural Products Expo West–BOOTH 3177  They’re all natural and made with only three ingredients, offering great taste and superior health benefits

Brooklyn, NY (PRWEB) March 11, 2008 — Jennies Macaroons has added chocolate to its line of all-natural macaroons, which are free of soy, wheat, sulfites, lactose, trans fats and gluten, nuts and yeast. As the first baking company to introduce gluten-free and dairy free products to the market in 1951—and the manufacturer of the #1 selling macaroon in the natural food market— Jennies Macaroons offer today’s health-conscious consumers what they’re looking for. “They’re all natural and made with only three ingredients, offering great taste and superior health benefits,” says Arnold Badner, president.

Jennies’ products include ingredients that are nutritional superstars. Coconut, now considered by health experts to be the healthiest form of saturated fat, is a main ingredient in both the macaroons and Jennies Omega-3 Energy Bars. The addition of flax seeds, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds give the bars a fiber boost as well as Omega-3 support. One bar contains 1,305mg of the FDA recommended 1,300 mg/day of ALA Omega-3, which promotes normal cholesterol and triglyceride levels and supports healthy circulation, lung and brain functions. “Unlike many energy bars on the market, Jennies-Omega 3 bars taste great and contain no artificial ingredients. And they provide a great source of healthy energy for an active and athletic lifestyle,” adds Badner.

Garnering significant attention from the health industry, Jennies’ products are promoted by Jordan Rubin, founder of the Garden of Life and Perfect Weight America, who chronicles in his book The Maker’s Diet how he used Jennies Macaroons as a treatment for Crohn’s Disease. Dr. Mary Enig, nutritional expert and biochemist, recommends Jennie’s Coconut Macaroons as the #1 source of coconut for her immune-compromised patients. According to Enig, coconut helps the body’s cellular function and has unique antimicrobial, anti-bacterial and anti-viral properties.

The new Chocolate Macaroons will appeal to specialty food and chocolate retailers, as well health food stores. Available in 8-ounce canisters, the coconut and almond are already sold in Whole Foods nationwide. Jennies Macaroons complete product line is available nationwide and includes Jennies Energy Bars, Traditional Jennies Macaroons, Zero Carbs Jennies Macaroons, and Omega 3 Energy Bars. All products are Kosher Parve, Maker’s Diet approved, and manufactured in a gluten-free and nut-free facility.

Jennies Macaroons (www.macaroonking.com), founded in 1919, has been the leading provider of all-natural macaroons since 1951, and expanded its line to include its popular Omega-3 Energy Bars in 2006. All products are Kosher Parve and Maker’s Diet approved, and manufactured by Red Mill Farms, Inc. in Brooklyn, NY. President Arnold Badner, 66, who has run more than 30 marathons and is an avid cyclist, relies on his Energy Bars to help him through his century bike rides in the Catskill Mountains.