Archive for the ‘Gluten free’ Category

 


Libonati_John_Philadelphia_PA

Fast-food chains are quickly joining the gluten-free party with menus featuring gluten-free foods. Burger King is the latest with their recent publication of a gluten-free menu that goes so far as to include a chicken breast filet!

New Gluten-Sensitive List Available at www.bk.com

Burger_king_logo MIAMI – Jan. 5, 2010 – Burger King Corp. (NYSE: BKC) today released a Gluten-Sensitive List: foods and ingredients on the BURGER KING® restaurant menu in the U.S. that do not contain wheat, barley, oats or rye. As part of nutrition efforts under its BK Positive Steps® corporate social responsibility program, the gluten-sensitive nutrition information supports BKC’s commitment to provide guests with access to detailed nutrition information so they can make informed choices that fit their dietary and lifestyle preferences. (more…)


Anne Steib

Review of Udi’s Gluten-free Sandwich Bread

January 11th, 2010 by Anne Steib

Anne_steib

I kept hearing numerous accolades about Udi’s Bakery in Denver, CO and their gluten-free foods. I would hear of people placing large orders with them and claiming their bread was the best of the gluten-free breads. So, I had to try this myself to see if the bread lived up to the hype.

UdiThankfully, I recently discovered they carry Udi’s at Woodman’s, who have an extremely large gluten-free section, and decided to try a loaf. Udi’s bread is handcrafted in their dedicated gluten-free facility in Denver, CO, their gluten-free foods are also dairy-, soy-, and nut-free. (more…)

Recall: Harry London Candies – Undeclared Wheat

January 5th, 2010 by Kimberly Bouldin

Bouldin_Kimberly_Columbus_OH

Harry London Candies, Inc voluntarily recalls their Chocolate Pecan Caramel Stars due to wheat not being marked on the label. If you have any candy made by Harry London, please check the information below to see if you need to contact the company.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – North Canton, OH. – December 29, 2009 – Harry London today announced it is voluntarily recalling 3310 individual units of the 4.62 ounce Harry London Chocolate Pecan Caramel Stars because they have not been labeled to include Wheat, FD&C colors Yellow #5, Red # 40 and Blue #1 as an ingredient. All Harry London Chocolate Pecan Caramel Stars sold after 28 December 2009 have the correct labeling. (more…)

gfchefCafferty_Jen_Chicago_IL

It is New Years and the season for top ten lists. Here is a list of the top ten gluten-free items that every gluten intolerant person needs in their pantry.

1. A good general gluten-free flour blend. Highly recommended: Better Batter Flour, Meister’s Flour, Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour Blend.

2. Xanthan gum or guar gum for your baked recipes.

3. Quality flavored olive oils and vinegars. Make sure these are gluten-free and you can whip up a marinade or salad dressing in no time.

4. Quinoa. Buy pre-rinsed quinoa from a company such as Ancient Harvest and save yourself a few minutes in the kitchen.

5. Great gluten-free bread such as Udi’s or Katz’s. Keep it in the freezer for those times when you need to make a sandwich on something that tastes like the “real” thing. (more…)

Amy Fothergill

Bard’s Beer Tastes Great and is Gluten Free

January 5th, 2010 by Amy Fothergill

Fothergill_Amy_SF_CA

Many people think of food when they think of a gluten free (gf) diet. No regular bagels, pizza or pasta. Many may not realize that when on a gluten free diet, you can’t have anything with wheat, barley, rye or oats (unless the oats are gf). Unfortunately, most beer is made with barley which means it’s on the list of things you can’t have.

bards_gfbeerIf you’ve missed the flavor of beer, you can now try Bard’s Beer, described as a craft beer, which is made from sorghum. According to the website, “sorghum is a genus of numerous species of grasses, some of which are raised for grain that can be used in the production of beer. Sorghum has been used in making beer for centuries in other parts of the world and is naturally gluten-free.” Sorghum can be made into flour which produces an excellent gf bread. (more…)

Liz_Schau

For many people, the thought of cooking and baking with bean flours can seem strange. After all, when trying to replicate your favorite cakes, cookies, muffins, and other sweets in order to make them gluten-free and food allergy-friendly, bean flours don’t exactly elicit the same mouth-watering cravings as traditional white and wheat flour. While bean flours may seem too savory to be added to your favorite baked goods, they actually can be a healthy and cost-effective replacement for gluten-filled ingredients.

bean_floursBeans and legumes, of course, are high in protein and fiber, among other nutrients. Bean flour varieties include green split peas or lentils, garbanzos, soy, navy and black beans, fava, red kidneys, and many others. (more…)

John Libonati

Chick-Fil-A Gluten Free Menu

December 30th, 2009 by John Libonati

Libonati_John_Philadelphia_PA

More and more fast food restaurants are getting into the gluten-free swing of things – using dedicated fryers and offering gluten-free menus. Here is Chick-Fil-A’s gluten-free menu, taken from their website on December 30, 2009. You can find a printable version here.

Information for customers who have intolerance to gluten
(wheat, barley, rye, triticale, oats, and spelt)

chick_fil_a_logo
Chick-fil-A menu items listed below may fit your gluten diet. This information was obtained from the suppliers of each of the items. We have bolded the grain source on items where customers have had questions. Some ingredients such as spices and natural flavors may be proprietary; therefore, we may not have the source listed for those items. We recommend you review this list with your physician before consuming any of the products listed below, or any other item on our menu. (more…)

Review: Shane’s Rib Shack – Gluten-free

December 29th, 2009 by Kimberly Bouldin

Bouldin_Kimberly_Columbus_OH

I had the wonderful opportunity to try Shane’s Rib Shack the other night. I had known that Shane’s had a gluten-free menu, but had never dined there before.

shanes_logoThere are a great number of choices for those who have to follow a gluten-free diet, including pork, ribs and chicken. The BBQ sauce is gluten-free. Shane’s also has a number of sides that are gluten-free, including cole slaw, baked beans, corn, and salad. For healthier options, there are salads on the menu with brisket, grilled chicken or pork. (more…)

Carter_Marissa_KansasCity_MO

With 2010 just around the corner, many people are working on their lists of New Years Resolutions. It comes as no surprise that, with the economy the way it is, that one of the New Years Resolutions topping the list this year is trying to reduce spending. For gluten free households, this can be a challenging thing to do.

Grocery_CartA single loaf of gluten free bread can cost between six and ten dollars. Add to that the expense of flours, pasta and the ever present snack foods and the grocery budget can get out of control very quickly.

If your grocery budget could use a little trimming this new year, these suggestions may help. (more…)

Randi Markowitz

Gluten Free Vegetarian Jello: Who Knew?

December 29th, 2009 by Randi Markowitz

Markowitz_Randi_Houston_TX

If this product had existed when I was a kid, I would probably be a healthier person today! For all you parents out there who have kids that love the “usual” gelatin snack product, but cringe when you think about the ingredients, fear no more.

cool_cups_orangeYou now have vegan Cool Cups. Cool Cups come in several flavors. At the Whole Foods near my house, I bought the orange, black cherry and peach mango. (more…)