The idea for Smoothie King started back in the late 1960′s in the home of Steve Kuhnau. Kuhnau was trying to remedy his allergies and low blood sugar and began to experiment with blending fruits, nutrients and proteins in a blender. In 1973, Kuhnau opened a health food store selling his smoothies & vitamins and Smoothie King was born. Smoothie King has grown to over 600 locations in the US and Seoul, Korea. Smoothie King’s mission is “To relentlessly influence and help more & more people achieve a healthier lifestyle.” (more…)
Larabars are simple, quick bars that are great to grab for any on-the-go lifestyle. Larabars are made from unsweetened fruit, nuts and spices. It doesn’t get any simpler than that. They are gluten-free, vegan, kosher and non-gmo.
This spring Larabar introduced 4 new flavors to their line: Carrot Cake, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough & Chocolate Chip Brownie. The ingredients in each are as follows: (more…)
Shopping at the mainstream grocery store has just become a little easier with the publication of the General Mills Gluten-Free Pocket Guide. This guide lists all of the current General Mills gluten-free products.
Whole Foods Market has decided to discontinue its branded gluten-free baking mixes due to “lack of interest.” Back in 2007, the market introduced their own line of mixes – not to be confused with the Gluten Free Bakehouse ready-made baked goods. The mixes for pizzas, breads, cakes, brownies and the like were part of the store’s 365 Everyday Value line. The products initially were priced slightly less than the comparable Gluten-Free Pantry mixes the house brand largely replaced. The ingredient labels for the Whole Foods products mimicked those of Gluten-Free Pantry’s, although the actual manufacturer of the store-labeled versions was never confirmed by either company.
According to a statement from Whole Foods:
The 365 Gluten Free Baking Mixes have been discontinued and are no longer available through any other outlets. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. There are many reasons that go into the decision to discontinue a product. Hundreds of new products are presented to us every day; therefore, the mix of products in each category is continually evolving. We evaluate attributes like value, quality, taste and convenience when we make the decision to accept or discontinue a product. Most often a product is discontinued to make room for a new product that offers a better combination of these attributes, or because there is a lack of interest in the product.
A Whole Foods customer service representative confirmed in an e-mail that customers’ lack of interest in the products led to the decision to end distribution. Interestingly, stores are being encouraged to stock Gluten-Free Pantry mixes as a replacement when the existing inventory of store-brand products runs out.
Looking for chocolates this holiday? Fannie May Candies offers a wide selection of products that are gluten free. According to Sales and Service Professional, Melanie Fernandez, the following items are gluten-free. (more…)
General Mills has jumped on the gluten-free band wagon expanding their gluten-free product lines. Just this past year, they provided the community with Betty Crocker cake mixes, Chex cereals and even Halloween candies that were clearly labeled “gluten free” on the box.
Turtle Brownie made with Betty Crocker Gluten Free Mix
This just in from Mary McSurdy of Kimberton Whole Foods in Pennsylvania. Bush’s Best beans are now gluten-free. Read BUSH’S letter from December 2009 to Mary below.
As of this date, all of our BUSH’S BEST products are gluten-free with the exception of our BUSH’S Chili Magic Chili Starter line and our Bush’s Homestyle Chili line.
We are pleased to inform you that we have reformulated our Chili Beans products to no longer contain wheat flour; therefore, changing the ingredient statement on these products to now state Modified Corn Starch. Due to store inventory rotation and other elements beyond our control, (more…)
Halloween is right around the corner and that means it’s time to start stocking up on all those sugary sweets we all love. Goodies come in all shapes, sizes and ingredients labels.
There are so many candy lists on the web that there can be some conflicting and confusing results when you Google “candy gluten free”. Half of the lists are out dated and the forums contain as many questions as answers.
This just in from a member of the Las Vegas listserve. This was Burts Bees customer response to a question about whether their lip products were gluten-free. Burts Bees Consumer Care number is below so you can contact them about their other products.
Thank you for contacting us with your inquiry, we do apologize that we are unable to provide you with a gluten free list at this moment; all of our lip products with the exception of our Res-Q lip balm with SPF 15 are gluten free. We thank you for making Burt’s Bees your Natural Personal Skin Care company, in the meantime if you have any additional questions and or concerns, please feel free to contact us with your inquiries.
Consumer Care Specialist
Burt’s Bees Inc
1-800-849-7112 option 2, then 1
Mon-Fri 10am-4:30pm EST
Please consider the environment before printing this email
*Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly
* Come Celebrate our 25th anniversary with us at www.burtsbees.com *
As was the case with Gluten Free Rice Chex, the barley malt ingredient was removed and replaced with another ingredient. Production has begun, so you may start seeing the gluten free formulas on store shelves now. All 5 products should be widely available across the U.S. by June 1, 2009. As with all reformulated products, both products may be on store shelves at the same time so please read labels/packaging carefully, examining the product packaging to ensure that the cereal inside the box is in fact the new, gluten free product. Look for “NOW GLUTEN FREE” or “GLUTEN FREE” on the front/side/back panels.
In addition, the following Betty Crocker Gluten Free mixes will be available at approximately the same time:
It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet when they are not labeled Gluten Free. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package; and for this reason, we do not offer a gluten-free product list.
However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing. We want you to be assured that if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the products ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.”