Archive for June, 2011

 

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >

Gluten-Free Vegetarian or Vegan

June 27th, 2011 by Cheryl Harris, MPH, RD, LD


Cheryl Harris Gluten Free Works

Gluten free vegetarian diet

Photo: Whole Foods, http://wholefoods.com

It can be challenging enough on gluten-free diet, but what if you eat a vegetarian or vegan diet? 

It’s well established that there are health benefits to reducing the amount of meat in the diets of most Americans, and the lifestyle has appeal for some people based on ethical and/or environmental reasons.  Fortunately, with extra planning, a well-rounded and delicious gluten-free vegetarian diet is possible.

The good news is that many vegetarian staples, like beans, lentils, tofu, dairy, nuts, seeds and eggs are already naturally gluten-free.  And some of the best sources of vegetarian and vegan protein are gluten-free pseudo-grains, such as quinoa, buckwheat and amaranth. Also, grains, such as millet, teff and sorghum are very nutritious.  In addition to protein and fiber, they all have other vital nutrients, like (more…)


[Advertisements]



Amy Fothergill

How to Make a Quick and Healthy Gluten Free Dinner

June 24th, 2011 by Amy Fothergill

Summer Gluten Free Dinner Amy Fothergill

Photo: Amy Fothergill 2011

Today, when I went to the grocery store, I was inspired by the produce. I didn't really have a plan; I just put it all in my cart. I also grabbed a package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs as my kids love this as a protein.

I think that it's great to have a stack of recipes on hand but at the same time, so much of it is just cooking. Can you guess all of cooking methods I used in the photo? They are shredding, marinating and grilling, steaming and roasting. Each item didn't take very long so if you can multi-task, it's easy to put together a dinner like this. Here's how I did it:

BBQ Chicken- I placed the chicken breasts in a glass pan and added bbq sauce. The marinating time is quick so you can leave the chicken out for 20 minutes while you prepare the other dishes. My favorite is (more…)

Gina Meagher Celiac Disease DiabetesI met Gina through the Celiac Sprue Association, Denver Chapter 17.  She helped me get involved in volunteering at last years ‘Incredible Edible Gluten-Free Food Fair™!’  She has been part of CSA for several years and is a member of the Board.  She has a lively personality and is willing to share her thoughts with others.  I am so excited that she was willing to sit down with me and talk about her experiences of living with Type I diabetes and Celiac disease.  I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.  The overall message I took away, was that neither Diabetes nor Celiac disease define who Gina is, because she is so much more and has never let either one stop her from living the active life she was meant to have!

Interview

 

Jenn: Hi Gina! It’s great to be with you today and to have the opportunity to get to know you better.  So, tell me…how old were you when you were diagnosed with Type I diabetes?

Gina: I was 17 years old.

Jenn: And how old were you when you were diagnosed with Celiac disease? (more…)

Cleo Libonati, RN, BSN

Why Oats Should Be Excluded from the Gluten-Free Diet

June 20th, 2011 by Cleo Libonati, RN, BSN

oats glutenThe suitability of oats as part of the gluten-free diet has been a source of controversy, with some groups pointing to research suggesting oats are safe and others pointing to other research demonstrating oats are dangerous to those with celiac disease. Close inspection of available medical research clearly shows that oats, even “gluten-free” oats, should not be included in the gluten-free diet at this time.

Until the early 1990’s, oats were excluded from the gluten-free diet, along with wheat, barley and rye. Then, a few pilot studies suggested oats may not cause the harm previously thought. The idea was proposed that people with celiac disease would find their diet more palatable, and would benefit nutritionally, if they were allowed to eat oats.

Heavy contamination of many oat products with wheat, rye, and particularly barley, was a concern. Companies began to produce so-called “gluten-free oats.” These oats were tested for the presence of wheat, barley and rye. They are vigorously marketed as “safe” for celiacs. However, studies show that even “uncontaminated oats” (oats not containing wheat, barley or rye) are toxic to an unknown number of people with celiac disease.

Early studies proclaimed oats to be safe, but they have since been judged faulty with poor validity. Nevertheless, they opened the floodgates to (more…)

Gluten Free Almond Butter Alternative to Peanut Butter

June 17th, 2011 by Kimberly Bouldin

Gluten Free Works Author Kimberly Bouldin

gluten-free almond butterJune 29th is National Almond Butter Crunch Day. Almond butter is a great way to get that good, healthy fat.  There are many varieties of almond butter on the market and most of them are gluten-free.  

 

All of the above listed almond butters are very good, but if I had to choose my favorite, I would have to go with (more…)

John Libonati Gluten Free Works

Dietz & Watson Gluten FreePHILADELPHIA (June 14, 2011) - Dietz & Watson Premium Deli Meats & Artisan Cheeses and ACME Markets, part of the nationwide SUPERVALU® family of grocery stores, will debut the first-ever dedicated Dietz & Watson gluten-free deli in the Philadelphia suburb of Paoli. Dietz & Watson offers more than 400 gluten-free choices, and more than 20 of them will be available at this one-of-a-kind deli case starting Wednesday, June 15.

Dietz & Watson and ACME are taking every step possible to prevent gluten from touching any product in the special deli case by adhering to strict guidelines to maintain the gluten-free integrity of the products. Shoppers will see items in a special eight-foot segregated section of the deli. The gluten-free products will have dedicated slicers separate from the other deli slicers, and deli associates will wear special blue gloves when handling gluten-free products. Shoppers can still purchase items at the regular deli cases with a full array of all traditional offerings available. (more…)

Teri Gruss, MS

Healthy Gluten Free Tacos Recipe

June 14th, 2011 by Teri Gruss, MS

Gluten Free Tacos

Gluten-free tacos with avocado. © 2010 Teri Lee Gruss

Packaged taco seasonings and taco shells can be a source of added gluten. This gluten-free taco recipe uses a homemade taco seasoning mix and organic gluten-free taco shells. Shredded baby spinach, red onions and avocado add vitamins, minerals, healthy fatty acids add vibrant color to this healthy version of a classic favorite.

Ingredients: •6 gluten-free hard taco shells (See tip) •1 pound lean ground beef •1 tablespoon olive oil (more…)

Jen Cafferty Gluten Free Works Author

Gluten free pesto pizzaThis is the other pizza that my husband made for our dinner tonight.  This is my personal favorite.  There is something very comforting about the italian sausage and roasted veggies.  The other pizza he made was a Spinach, Pancetta and Goat Cheese Pizza.  We use Udi’s frozen GF pizza crust, but any GF crust will work.

Ingredients:

3 mild Italian sausage links,  casing removed 1 1/2 cups fire roasted peppers and onions (I use the frozen Trader Joe’s version)* (more…)

Pizza Is a Human Right, in My House Anyway

June 7th, 2011 by Theresa

Theresa Gluten Free Works

Gluten Free Pizza Crust Monstrosity

Any idea what this monstrosity is?

Nope?

This one should be easier:

Gluten Free Pizza Crust Venerdis

That's right. They're both pizza bases.

Gluten Free Pizza Base

It tastes great, really...if only I could get it off the paper!

I know what you're thinking. "How on earth did she manage to make such horrible looking pizza bases?" (more…)

Amy Fothergill

Gluten Free Shrimp and Tofu Pad Thai Recipe

June 6th, 2011 by Amy Fothergill

Amy Fothergill Gluten Free Works

Gluten Free Pad Thai Amy Fothergill

Gluten Free Pad Thai Photo: Amy Fothergill

Eating pad thai in a restaurant might be hard if cross contamination is a concern.

Most pad thai sauces contain soy sauce and more likely than not, that soy sauce contains gluten.

If you live in the bay area, access to rice (more…)

  • Page 1 of 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • >