It is almost Thanksgiving and time for another holiday that centers around food. This can be a time of stress for some on the gluten-free diet, but with a little research it is easy to determine which turkeys are gluten free. It is important to note that fresh, plain unstuffed turkeys are naturally gluten free. All regular stuffed turkeys contain gluten even if you don’t eat it because the gluten stuffing permeates the turkey while it is cooking. Check the gravy packets very carefully to ensure they are gluten free as most are not safe and should be discarded.
We dined on a Honeysuckle White turkey last year and couldn't believe how moist and flavorful it was, so that is now our turkey of choice. If you question the status of a turkey call their customer service line for confirmation. It is always better to confirm than to wonder or possibly eat a turkey that is not gluten free. Here’s a list of turkey information from many major brands:
Shipped Kosher turkey, goose, duck, etc. with gluten-free stuffing (buckwheat, quinoa or rice). Here’s their product list. Checked Nov 2010
Butterball 800-288-8372 http://www.butterball.com/
From the Butterball website Nov 2010:
- Butterball product labels let consumers know whether any of the top eight allergens may be present in the product. For example, a label may read “contains wheat and dairy.” Specifically, gluten is not present naturally in turkey. It may be present in our gravy packets, additional rubs or flavors, and in our stuffed products.
- SomeButterball gravy packet are GF–As always, read carefully.
(800) 327-8246 “To my knowledge the only item that I sell that has gluten are the crackers that are in the picnic basket. Other than that all other items are gluten free.” via email, October 2007
Empire Kosher Poultry 717-436-5921 Listing of allGF Products (accessed Nov 2010)
Esskay and Mash Hams 1800-638-7350 “The only products that have gluten are our Bar BQ loaf and Peppered Corned Beef in the deli. All our other products are gluten free.” Via email, November 2007.
316 -683-4691 Honeysuckle White Turkeys are GF, but some of their other products have gluten. A list of products that DO have gluten here. All other products are GF, according to the manufacturer. (updated Nov 5 2010)
Hormel Foods 1-800-523-4635 List includes turkey products and ham, too. (updated Nov 5,2010)
Jennie-O 800-523-4635 Listing of all GF products (accessed Nov 09)
Manor House(Safeway brand) 877-723-3929 Confirmed via email Safeway Nov 2010. “Thank you for contacting us regarding your inquiry on our Turkeys. Yes, our Turkeys are gluten free.”
Perdue 800-473-7383 Listing of all GF products. (accessed Nov 5, 2010)
Pilgrim’s Pride 800-824-1159
Here is a list of GF products. Breaded products are not GF (updated Nov 5 2010)
800-724-0206 “All of our turkeys products are gluten free except our gravy, cranberry relish, and dressing ” Confirmed via email Nov 2009
Shadybrook Farms 1-888-723-4468 New listing of products that are NOT GF (all others are GF) (updated Nov 5, 2010)
Wellshire Farms (856) 769-8933
Info on gluten and many other allergens for turkeys, hams and other products, too. Includes an in-depth description of the term gluten-free as they use it.(updated Nov 5 2010)
This list was compiled and last updated on November 8th of this year by Cheryl Harris of Harris Whole Health ----------------------------
Author Information: Jennifer D. Harris, Atlanta, GA Jennifer D. Harris, http://www.jenniferglutenfreeingeorgia.blogspot.com Gluten-Free Product Specialist, Return to Eden Program Chair, Atlanta Metro CeliacsTwitter@jenniferGFinGA