This just in from Mary McSurdy of Kimberton Whole Foods in Pennsylvania. Bush's Best beans are now gluten-free. Read BUSH'S letter from December 2009 to Mary below.
As of this date, all of our BUSH'S BEST products are gluten-free with the exception of our BUSH'S Chili Magic Chili Starter line and our Bush's Homestyle Chili line.
We are pleased to inform you that we have reformulated our Chili Beans products to no longer contain wheat flour; therefore, changing the ingredient statement on these products to now state Modified Corn Starch. Due to store inventory rotation and other elements beyond our control, we still urge you to check the labels before consuming these products if you have gluten restrictions.
We do use corn starch in some of our products, but it does not contain gliadin gluten from wheat, barley, oats or rye grains which may cause adverse responses in persons suffering from Celiac Sprue. In addition, any vinegar used in our products is corn-based and distilled.
I hope this information is helpful. Please keep in mind that we are constantly expanding our product line and may add new products that contain potential allergens. Additional ingredient information can be found in the ingredients listing on the label or by checking the "Product Q&A" section of our web site. If you are still unsure, please email us via our web site: www.bushbeans.com.
Sincerely, Teesee Moore Consumer Relations Coordinator
--------------------- Author Information: John Libonati, Philadelphia, PA Publisher, Glutenfreeworks.com. Editor & Publisher, Recognizing Celiac Disease. John can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org.