Print This Post Print This Post
Save 20 at the Grain Exchange

Butterball turkey gravy packets are now gluten-free

[Update November 22, 2017: All of the Butterball products are gluten free except for Butterball Stuffed Turkey (bread stuffing) and Butterball Frozen Meatballs.  For our products that are packaged with gravy packets, the gravy packets are gluten free as well. The gravy contains rice flour instead of wheat flour and the modified food starch is corn based. Source: Butterball.]

turkeyThere has been some confusion lately about whether or not Butterball turkey gravy packets are gluten-free. There are six types of Buttterball turkeys that come with a gravy packet. They are listed below and all currently come with a gluten-free gravy packet. The key to understanding if your gravy packet is gluten-free is to READ the label.

Any newly manufactured gravy packet will contain rice flour. According to Butterball (1-800-BUTTERBALL) there are still some older packets of gravy in the stores that contain wheat flour. Therefore, read your packet and make sure it does not contain wheat flour. If it contains wheat flour, you have an older packet and it is therefore not gluten-free. In the future, all of the Butterball gravy packets will be manufactured using rice flour.

The turkeys that contain gluten-free gravy packets are:
Fresh or Frozen Lil’ Butterballs
Fresh or Frozen Whole Turkey Breasts
Fresh or Frozen Boneless Breast of Turkey

Go to www.gfreelife.com to download your Thanksgiving E-Cookbook (Gluten and Dairy Free). The book contains recipes, tips, and ideas for your leftover turkey.

——————–
Author Information: Jen Cafferty, Chicago, IL
Jen Cafferty, Founder, The Gluten Free Cooking Expo
Website: www.glutenfreeclasses.com
Blog: www.glutenfreeexpo.wordpress.com
National GF Reporter for Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/x-12164-GlutenFree-Food-Examiner
Twitter: jenglutenfree
GIG Chicago: www.chicagoglutenfree.com

About Jen Cafferty

Jen Cafferty
x

Check Also

Karo Corn Syrup Is Gluten Free and Allergen-friendly

Karo corn syrup is gluten-free.  There was some confusion about Karo since it contains caramel ...

Gluten-Free Fish Tacos Recipe

  Tacos! Drive thru beef and chicken, crunchy or soft may be our most familiar ...

Corn-syrup and Cane-sugar-Free Caramel Popcorn Recipe

  What’s the problem with how traditional caramel corn is made? The primary ingredients are ...

>