This just in from the Cincinnati Celiac Support Group listserve:
Rice Chex is now gluten-free - click the link below and check out the label where it says gluten-free on the middle of the box... http://www.generalmills.com/corporate/brands/product_image.aspx?catID=23344&itemID=131
This was the response someone received on the Delphi Celiac Disease Forum when they emailed General Mills about the cross contamination issue: Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry. Rice Chex has been reformulated to insure that it does not include gluten-containing ingredients or have the possibility of cross contact with gluten containing ingredients or products. We hope you find this information helpful. Please let us know if we can help you again. Sincerely, Connie Sellers Consumer Services
BE AWARE THAT OLDER, BARLEY MALT CONTAINING BOXES MAY STILL BE ON THE SHELVES! MAKE SURE TO READ THE INGREDIENT LABEL.